Boozy Stone Fruit Cobbler

Boozy Stone Fruit CobblerToday’s a reflective day for me. I wandered down the sidewalk on my morning walk, just enjoying the day and what it had to offer. This morning is was sunflowers and honeybees. On other mornings, it’s wonderful new people.

Boozy Stone Fruit CobblerI enjoy mornings like this one. There was a wonderful cool breeze, the sun was shining and I had my camera with me to capture the beautiful sights along the way. My playlist of music playing in my ears, creating the most wonderful soundtrack for the morning. Of course there are other mornings where I prefer Mother Nature’s soundtrack filled with the buzz of bees, chirps and tweets of the birds, leaves rustling and the sounds of a busy world around me but for today, it was my playlist, my creation.

Boozy Stone Fruit CobblerI think I’m going to share a comforting recipe for boozy fruit cobbler to help with the reflection and enjoyment of the morning. Stone-fruit filled slightly tart cobbler with vanilla ice cream is always a beautiful way to chill out and reflect on those deep moments in life as we enjoy the deep flavors of plums, apricots, cherries and nectarines with Grand Marnier and vanilla  bean with a crispy oatmeal topping.

Boozy Stone Fruit CobblerThe flavors of the stone fruit in the cobbler just go along with helping to flavor the mood of the morning. While I didn’t eat any of this cobbler this morning, I did return home to help myself to the deep, dark, sweet-tart cherries waiting for me to bite into them and let the cool juices flow down the back of my throat and ramble around my tongue. Maybe tomorrow I’ll move on to summer berries but for today, it’s all about the cherries.

Boozy Stone Fruit Cobbler

Stone-Fruit Cobbler

  • Servings: 9-12
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Filling:

2.5 lbs. fresh nectarines, peaches, plums, apricots or cherries, pitted and sliced

1/2 tsp. almond extract

1 tsp. nutmeg

1/2 cup Grand Marnier (or use Brandy, Bourbon or Cointreau)

1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed (might need to add more or less depending on sweetness of fruit)

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

Topping:

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. sea salt

1/2 cup light brown sugar

1 cup rolled oats

6 Tbsp. cold butter, cut into tablespoons

Mix all the filling ingredients together in a large bowl and set aside for about an hour. This gives time for the mix to develop a nice juicy syrup, so don’t skimp on the time.

For the filling: mix all the topping ingredients except for the butter. Cut the butter pieces into the topping mixture until the mix resembles large coarse crumbs.

Preheat oven to 375 F.

Lightly butter a 8″ x 8″ casserole dish. Pour in the filling and then top with topping. Spread evenly across the top.

Bake uncovered until golden brown 45-55 minutes.

Blackberry Mascarpone Hand Pies from the Kitchen McCabe

Grilled Peaches with Honey Almond Yogurt from Henry Happened

Barbecue Pork Chops with Grilled Peaches from Garnish and Glaze

Brown Butter Vanilla Peach and Berry Crisp from Some the Wiser

Bourbon Soaked Cherries from She Eats

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. huntfortheverybest says:

    i love the mix of fruit. this looks amazing!

    1. heididmedina says:

      Thanks! We found the mixture of fruit to be lovely together.

    1. heididmedina says:

      Thanks Sadia 🙂

Leave a comment