A Guest Recipe from my Foodie Penpal

A bowl of cottage cheese.
A bowl of cottage cheese. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve been so excited because I signed up for the Foodie Penpal program that Lindsey from the Lean Green Bean organized.  The program has over 1,300 participants who exchange packages of goodies with each other.  September is my first month for participating in the program and so far has been interesting and fun.  Zip on over there and check it out for yourself so that you can be getting a box of goodies in the mail.

The hardest thing about the entire process was not going over the $15 budget because there are so many wonderful things I would have loved to send out to my penpal, Sheri Winter.  While I can’t reveal yet what I did send her (per instructions of the penpal program which has a reveal day), but I did invite her to be the first guest blogger on Simply Sophisticated Cooking.  She accepted and without further ado here is her recipe for all of us to try.

Recipe and Story from Sheri Winter

My grandmother made these for me when I was little and I make them for my daughters now. They are packed full of protein. What a great start to the morning!

English: A heap of pancakes in Sweden. My moth...
A heap of pancakes in Sweden. My mother cooked them. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
Cottage pancakes
 1 16 oz tub cottage cheese
6 whole fresh eggs
3 tbsp flour
Mix all in a blender till creamy. Pour half-dollar size into medium heat well buttered pan. If they bubble up or sizzle up you have the heat too high. Cook till light brown on both sides. They do not rise like pancakes do. They resemble crepes. Serve warm with apple butter or apple sauce.

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/savory-filled-cottage-cheese-pancakes/detail.aspx

http://joyfitnessandstyle.com/2012/08/31/a-protein-rich-yummy-breakfast/

Enhanced by Zemanta

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for the shout-out…I’ll need to try your version too!

    1. heididmedina says:

      That recipe is from my foodie penpal. If you try them please comment and let her know what you think of her recipe:)
      I’m planning on giving both your recipes a try.

Leave a comment