Baker’s Dozen Cookie Challenge Day 2: Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Gluten Free Chocolate Chip CookiesIt’s Day 2 of the Baker’s Dozen Cookie Challenge and I’m sharing my Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies with you. Good chocolate chip cookies and milk are something people seem to bond over. Maybe I should just make huge batches of them for the world to share so we can all get along. All the violence in the news lately really makes me sad. So I am hiding out in my kitchen baking more cookies for my cookie challenge.

Gluten Free Chocolate Chip CookiesThis recipe gets a thumbs up from two of my gluten-free friends and hubby loved them, saying “you can’t tell the difference.” Personally, I notice a slight difference in the texture but not in the taste. They are slightly more crispy and airy, probably because of the rice flour, sort of like the texture in puffed rice. But it is not a bad texture at all, just a little different.

Gluten Free Chocolate Chip CookiesNow some people prefer milk chocolate chips in their cookies and you are welcome to switch up the recipe as you like but there’s something about using a good semi-sweet chip that adds so much more richness to the recipe. I used 63% cacao in these and they were just verging on the edge of dark. YUM!

Gluten Free Chocolate Chip CookiesI did notice I had to push up the cooking time by a minute from 10 to 11 minutes when using the gluten-free flour versus all-purpose. You may not have the same results depending on your oven. You just want them to be turning golden brown on the edges to make them crispy on the outside but soft and chewy on the inside.

Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

1/2 cup granulated white sugar

3/4 cup little brown sugar

1 cup or 16 Tbsp. unsalted butter, room temperature

1 Tbsp. vanilla extract (use the real stuff, not the imitation)

2 large eggs, room temperature

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 cups Bob’s gluten-free baking flour

3/4 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

3 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 cup walnuts or pecans, optional

Preheat oven to 350° F. Prepare cookie sheets with parchment paper and set aside until needed.

Cream together sugar and butter with a mixer, about 2 to 3 minutes. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add the vanilla, mixing well.

Mix the dry ingredients together, reserving the chips and nuts.  Add the dry mix to the creamed mix gradually, mixing well. Once everything is combined well, stir the chocolate chips and nuts into the mix using a large spoon.

You can roll the dough into 1 1/4″ balls or I used a tablespoon to measure out the dough and dropped it on the prepared cookie sheets, about 2″ apart. The tablespoon gave me the perfect measurement every time and my cookies came out uniform in size.

Bake for about 11 minutes or until you see edges lightly browning. Do not over cook or you will cause the cookie to be brittle and dry out.

Makes about 4 1/2 dozen cookies (using my measurement).

More lovely chocolatey ways to use chocolate chips in cookie form:

Dark Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies from Me

Chocolate Chip Cookies from Me

Sweet and Salty Marshmallow Chocolate Chip Cookies from the Housewife in Training Files

Peppermint White Chocolate Pretzel-Bottomed Bars from Bakerita

Double Chocolate Chip M&M Cookies from Creme de la Crumb

Oatmeal Pumpkin Cookies with Chocolate Chips and Cranberries from Hungry Healthy Girl

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Hellllo cookies! Yum! You read my mind girl!! These look absolutely amaaazing 😀

    1. heididmedina says:

      Thank you. I’ll add mind-reading to my resume. LOL. There really is nothing like an awesome chocolate chip cookie. Enjoy 🙂

  2. I have been looking for a great Gluten free cookie recipe and this looks like the one for me. The crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside cookies I love. Thanks for the recipe.

    1. heididmedina says:

      You’re welcome. Let me know how you like them!!!

      1. Ok, well the first batch turned out a little on the hard side, think I kept them in too long…So I made them again and reduced the cooking time by 3 mins – perfect. Thank you so much.

      2. heididmedina says:

        Yes, leaving them in to long will will turn them to bricks. The gluten free flour also seems easier to get get hard with as well. It’s a learning experience using it. I’m so glad you like them 🙂

  3. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I have a friend who is gluten intolerant and he would love it if I made these for him. I am glad you are using the gluten free baking mixes – they make it so much easier.

    1. heididmedina says:

      I understand because of my non-gluten eating friends as well. It’s nice to make something they can share in as well. Keep an eye out, more gluten-free recipes to come since I’m still using up the 5-pound bag of the mix, lol. 🙂

Leave a comment