Reduced Fat Caesar Dressing

Reduced Fat Caesar DressingI have gained a few pounds over the winter. I could just blame it on the winter gain but most of it has been from not feeling well due to secondhand smoke from my neighbor’s place. It really is amazing how smoking kills the respiratory system of everyone around, including those who do not smoke. My weight gain also is attributed to all the staying in hotel rooms and eating out, which is always a killer on extra fat and calories no matter how healthy I try to eat.

Reduced Fat Caesar DressingWith spring on the way, it is time to get back on track and get rid of the extra pounds. In my head, I am ready for hiking and working out but my body is saying take it slow. Get older really does suck sometimes because I do not bounce back as quickly as I used to. Not to mention the ability to eat anything and everything without gaining an ounce is long gone.

Reduced Fat Caesar DressingWe already eat plenty of veggies in this house but I am upping the ante to include even more salads and plenty of steamed colorful goodness. Eating LOTS of veggies without a ton of added fat is the best way to lose those winter pounds easily (as well as plenty of exercise but I am focusing on the food part today!). That means looking at my dressings and finding more ways to cut the fat from them because I do not like a salad without a good tasty homemade dressing.

Reduced Fat Caesar DressingCaesar Dressing is often loaded with saturated fat and plenty of calories. Getting rid of a good many of them was easy! I just switched out most of the mayo for nonfat Greek yogurt. It was still wonderfully creamy and so full of flavor, I never missed the extra fat from the mayo. I love nonfat Greek yogurt! It is my shortcut to adding great protein and cutting fat in so many dishes without losing the creamy goodness I love so much. I use it in the place of sour cream (it has the same taste and consistency) and use it in so many dips, dressings and even baking.

Reduced Fat Caesar DressingI also us good anchovies, which are essential to a good Caesar Dressing. I like the ones from Wild Planet because they taste fresh and are perfect little filets, rarely mushed up. Add in some high quality aged Pecorino Romano and I had the perfect Caesar Dressing for my salad. I also made fresh croutons, which adds so much more to the salad but can also be left off to get rid of more extra calories. The spring weight gain fight is on and it is looking pretty good with plenty of fresh salads and tasty dressings in the forecast.

Reduced Fat Caesar Dressing

1/4 cup mayo

1/2 cup nonfat Greek yogurt

3 cloves garlic

4 whole anchovies (whole equals 2 filets)

1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

1 tsp. Dijon mustard (I used whole grain)

1 – 1 1/2 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice

1/4 cup Pecorino Romano, grated

1 – 2 Tbsp. unsweetened almond milk, to loosen to desired consistency

Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Add the smaller amounts of the lemon juice and almond milk to a blender, reserve rest for adjusting taste after rest of ingredients are included. Add the rest of the ingredients to the blender. Pulse until dressing is well combined and smooth. Add salt and pepper to taste and adjust the lemon juice and almond milk as needed.

Place in the fridge for at least 30 minutes before using to allow time for flavors to meld.

Stores well in the fridge for 4 to 5 days.

Makes 1 cup.

More Easy to Make Homemade Salad Dressings:

3 Salad Dressings with Less than 6 Ingredients from Smart Nutrition

Base Salad Dressing and Vinaigrette Recipes from Bachology

Garlic Parmesan Dressing from Stinky Kitchen

Tarragon-Buttermilk Dressing from Olive Oil and Lemons

3 Healthy Summer Salad Dressings from Alyssa & Carla

 

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. bluestar68 says:

    Heidi, come join me on my walkabout meetup next Saturday, liz

    1. Hey Liz,
      I would love to. Send me the details please!

      1. bluestar68 says:

        Just go to the FRPG wep page for details……RSVPs open at 9am this Sunday! Have loved your cooking out of a suitcase series!

  2. Most healthy makeovers taste just as good as the originals. Your recipe looks especially good. Yes, getting older makes it very difficult to stay in shape. Sounds like you are taking it on. I do worry about your smoking neighbor making your air unhealthy.Do you have an airfilter/cleaner in your home? It may help.

    1. Thanks for the concern Jovina and yes we do plus we have finally gotten the building management to do something and the ventilation system is finally working. Yay! Hopefully it’ll stay in his place now instead of creeping down to ours.

Leave a comment